Testimonials

See all our reviews on TripAdvisor, Yelp, and our Facebook Page!

Thrill ride with history.
October 22, 2018.
On a whim, we decided to go on an off road adventure. It was our good fortune to find Dave who on short notice, was available. Dave was at our arranged pick up point (base of the free gondola) on time and ready to go. He gave us suggestions on what to bring, all of them worthwhile. As we began our ascent it was clear that he was no ordinary tour driver. This man knows the history and is a gifted story teller.You can tell he loves this place. It was almost as if he lived through the gold mining days and personally knew the characters. Add to this his driving skills on one lane rutted dirt roads with shear drops as shoulders and you have the makings of a great day. When we reached something around 12000 feet the howling wind became frigid. No problem there; out came Dave’s blankets and wool hats to keep us cozy.Did I mention the breathtaking views? They are amazing. By the end of our journey we were all ready to keep going. It was as if we had attended a fabulous history class. Dave’s was definitely one of the highlights of our time in Telluride.

Imogene Half a Day with Dave.
July 30, 2018
We had planned on taking the train ride from Durango to Silverton, but after a mudslide took out the train track my group of 11 was left with a free day. We last minute called Dave who was super accommodating and got our whole group in for a half day trip up Imogene pass. Dave did not disappoint. He was fun. His stories were great! And he took care with our safety on a stormy day. I would highly recommend his tour to anyone looking for wonderful scenic views, adventure and off the beaten path looksies into the history of the area.
-Mary

A fun trip up Imogene Pass.
June 20, 2018.
We did a half-day (4 hrs) tour with Dave up to the top of Imogene Pass from Telluride. My daughters loved riding in his truck and bouncing all over the place on the bumpy road. Dave shared stories of the Tomboy Mine, other mines in the area and general Telluride/Ouray stories and knowledge. We learned a great deal and had a fun time. I would recommend Dave’s Mountain Tours to anyone wanting an adventure!

January 7, 2018.
“Dave’s Mountain Tours is an event everyone needs to experience in their lifetime-hopefully more than once. The tours are safe, exciting, and you can learn alot about the area and nature from Dave. He is very funny and pleasant. He has stories to tell about the history that is interesting. He can drive on roads that are scary, but he is totally trustworthy and you can just enjoy the beautiful country and have a great time. Try the tours with Dave. Take lots of pictures.”
-Jan Wiese, from our Facebook page.

For reservations call 970-728-9749 or email Dave@TellurideTours.com

September 12, 2014
“Tammy and I had an amazing time with Dave in Telluride this past week. He is a wonderful guide, plenty of stories, gracious and all around great guy. Will use him again next time for another adventure while in Telluride.”
-Jack E. Hallam Jr.

September 5, 2014
“Clay was our very gracious guide on the half day trip to Imogene Pass and he could not have been a better host.  Yes, I know you can rent a jeep and drive yourself up, but this was way more fun for the guy who would have been the driver (me), and we got to hear Clay’s stories along the way.  It was spectacular; the highlight of our week in Telluride.”
-Marc Hall, Peggy Sue BBQ
November 22, 2013
If you want to experience a bit of Colorado history, and see some spectacular vistas en route, you can’t go past Dave’s Mountain Tours in Telluride. Our excellent and very experienced tour guide, Clay, picked us up in the morning in an ex-Swiss army 4WD vehicle, and this somewhat ungainly looking contraption proved to be the most amazingly capable machine I’ve ever been off road in. Our tour took us up to the snowline, above the old Tomboy mining area ruins, which was a fascinating place to explore, especially after reading ‘Tomboy Bride’, an eye-opening book about a young woman who lived at the mine in 1900. Ample time was allowed for photography and a bit of walkabout, and Clay was happy to answer our many questions. Highly recommended.
 
5 of 5 stars November 4, 2013
The views are great from the ground in Telluride, but they’re even better at higher altitudes. If you’ve got a day in the San Juans and hiking/climbing to the top of a something isn’t on your agenda, make sure a 4WD trip is. Clay is an excellent guide with a real sense of adventure, and having done this for 20+ years, he knows ALL of the back roads. We spent an entire day in the mountains and even with a few of the biggest-name passes closed (very early and unexpectedly) for the season, Clay was able to improvise an experience that was nothing short of spectacular. Not to mention fun – he’s highly knowledgeable and a great guy to hang around with. We fully plan on touring with this great company again to tackle Black Bear when we return!

Hints to maximize the fun: if you’re game, try to reserve a full day tour outside of the busy season, and pack a lunch so you don’t have to stop!”

5 of 5 starsAugust 2, 2013
Leaving the Arizona heat for the cool mountains of Colorado was great fun. Went on the 1/2 day Imogene pass tour with Dave (new owner). At over 13,000 feet, it was very cool (the tour and the weather). Interesting history was shared by Dave. We would recommend this highly. Have a couple of suggestions Dave.”

“Scott took my wife (Rebecca) and I on the off-road tour of our lives back on Aug. 15th up over Imogene Pass. He is such an excellent driver and so incredibly knowledgeable. We absolutely had a wonderful time in your amazingly beautiful mountains. Scott, we can’t thank you enough.” – Tim & Rebecca Burt, Easton, PA

Just wanted to pass on our compliments for an outstanding trip today and the very entertaining and insightful commentary provided by Mitch. – R.M.

“We had a wonderful time. We’ll definitely do it again.”  – D.D.

“It was absolutely, totally perfect. It’s beautiful, great scenery. I’ll highly recommend you to people.” – D.W.

“Steve was a wonderful guide. I’m glad we went.” – J.B.

“The tour was just super!” – W.D.T.

“Scott was Wonderful!  Us girls loved the tour.  Thank you so much.. We will be back.” – D.L., Colorado

“Roy was an excellent guide. Very conscientious. We had a wonderful afternoon” – George

Up the Mountain with Dave
4 of 5 stars June 24, 2012
“My husband and I toured Colorado for our honeymoon, and Telluride was our favourite stop. We had originally booked another mountain tour online, but the concierge at the hotel suggested we switch to Dave instead – and he was definitely correct (while on the mountain we ran into the other tour, and we had more fun, traveled to more peaks, and learned more!

As we took the tour in August, we assumed we should wear summer clothes but Dave actually called the hotel the night before and gave us some suggestions regarding our clothes (long sleeves, layers, etc) that were appreciated. The truck (a pinsgauer?) was great to travel in an let us have 360 degree views of our surroundings. We went up to Imogen Pass and, as we were the only two on tour, were then able to drive with Dave to a few other peaks.

Dave was very amusing and did a great job of balancing his driving duties and his story-telling. He took pictures of us at the top of the mountain, but also suggested a few other stops that would make for great honeymoon pictures. We left the hotel around 8:30am and didn’t return until 2pm or so, so it was a great day!”

For reservations call: 970-728-9749
Email: Dave@TellurideTours.com

Facebook

Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress