Testimonials

September 12, 2014

Tammy and I had an amazing time with Dave in Telluride this past week. He is a wonderful guide, plenty of stories, gracious and all around great guy. Will use him again next time for another adventure while in Telluride.

Jack E. Hallam Jr.
September 5, 2014
Clay was our very gracious guide on the half day trip to Imogene Pass and he could not have been a better host.  Yes, I know you can rent a jeep and drive yourself up, but this was way more fun for the guy who would have been the driver (me), and we got to hear Clay’s stories along the way.  It was spectacular; the highlight of our week in Telluride.


Marc Hall
Peggy Sue BBQ
“Barbeque Unchained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

If you want to experience a bit of Colorado history, and see some spectacular vistas en route, you can’t go past Dave’s Mountain Tours in Telluride. Our excellent and very experienced tour guide, Clay, picked us up in the morning in an ex-Swiss army 4WD vehicle, and this somewhat ungainly looking contraption proved to be the most amazingly capable machine I’ve ever been off road in. Our tour took us up to the snowline, above the old Tomboy mining area ruins, which was a fascinating place to explore, especially after reading ‘Tomboy Bride’, an eye-opening book about a young woman who lived at the mine in 1900. Ample time was allowed for photography and a bit of walkabout, and Clay was happy to answer our many questions. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The views are great from the ground in Telluride, but they’re even better at higher altitudes. If you’ve got a day in the San Juans and hiking/climbing to the top of a something isn’t on your agenda, make sure a 4WD trip is. Clay is an excellent guide with a real sense of adventure, and having done this for 20+ years, he knows ALL of the back roads. We spent an entire day in the mountains and even with a few of the biggest-name passes closed (very early and unexpectedly) for the season, Clay was able to improvise an experience that was nothing short of spectacular. Not to mention fun – he’s highly knowledgeable and a great guy to hang around with. We fully plan on touring with this great company again to tackle Black Bear when we return!

Hints to maximize the fun: if you’re game, try to reserve a full day tour outside of the busy season, and pack a lunch so you don’t have to stop!

5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Leaving the Arizona heat for the cool mountains of Colorado was great fun. Went on the 1/2 day Imogene pass tour with Dave (new owner). At over 13,000 feet, it was very cool (the tour and the weather). Interesting history was shared by Dave. We would recommend this highly. Have a couple of suggestions Dave.

“Scott took my wife (Rebecca) and I on the off-road tour of our lives back on Aug. 15th up over Imogene Pass. He is such an excellent driver and so incredibly knowledgeable. We absolutely had a wonderful time in your amazingly beautiful mountains. Scott, we can’t thank you enough.” – Tim & Rebecca Burt, Easton, PA

Just wanted to pass on our compliments for an outstanding trip today and the very entertaining and insightful commentary provided by Mitch. – R.M.

“We had a wonderful time. We’ll definitely do it again.”  – D.D.

“It was absolutely, totally perfect. It’s beautiful, great scenery. I’ll highly recommend you to people.” – D.W.

“Steve was a wonderful guide. I’m glad we went.” – J.B.

“The tour was just super!” – W.D.T.

“Scott was Wonderful!  Us girls loved the tour.  Thank you so much.. We will be back.” – D.L., Colorado

“Roy was an excellent guide. Very conscientious. We had a wonderful afternoon” – George

Up the Mountain with Dave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My husband and I toured Colorado for our honeymoon, and Telluride was our favourite stop. We had originally booked another mountain tour online, but the concierge at the hotel suggested we switch to Dave instead – and he was definitely correct (while on the mountain we ran into the other tour, and we had more fun, traveled to more peaks, and learned more!

As we took the tour in August, we assumed we should wear summer clothes but Dave actually called the hotel the night before and gave us some suggestions regarding our clothes (long sleeves, layers, etc) that were appreciated. The truck (a pinsgauer?) was great to travel in an let us have 360 degree views of our surroundings. We went up to Imogen Pass and, as we were the only two on tour, were then able to drive with Dave to a few other peaks.

Dave was very amusing and did a great job of balancing his driving duties and his story-telling. He took pictures of us at the top of the mountain, but also suggested a few other stops that would make for great honeymoon pictures. We left the hotel around 8:30am and didn’t return until 2pm or so, so it was a great day!

Visited August 2011

For reservations call: 970-728-9749
Email: Dave@TellurideTours.com

Facebook

Get the Facebook Likebox Slider Pro for WordPress